A Job lot

Kate Motaung has given the prompt BLAME for the Five Minute Friday writing challenge today and it has produced a rag tag of feelings

Last Friday I took my niece to a play at the local theatre. We were diverted onto a circuitous rural route. When we arrived the car park was full, with many vehicles parked awry. I inserted my car into a narrow space and scraped the rear wheel arch against an adjacent car. The driver was still there and we inspected the shards of red paint on her white bumper. I was clearly to blame and apologised immediately. She was very gracious and no long term harm was done.

Suffering the blame
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Sometimes I am confident that I am not at fault and proceed to make my own way through a situation until I hear the Lord’s prompt that he is not pleased. I don’t like this sensation. It usually comes after the event, when I am quiet and see how what I have said or done has been unfair or unloving. Repentance is the only viable option, and thankfulness that His sacrifice for us brings us back into a relationship with our creator.

This week I have been involved in a difficult and complex situation, which has not gone as I hoped. I feel disappointed, ashamed that the project has not succeeded, fearful of blame, and upset that time for other projects, including writing, has been stolen. Yet it is not my fault. The mishaps are outside my control. In the Biblical story of Job we are told at the beginning that his life is pleasing to God, yet his friends try to find reasons for his suffering, in his lifestyle and behaviour. Like Job, I have not done anything to create the situation, whatever people might think. All I can do is ask the Lord to Relieve the troubles of my heart and free me from my anguish.

The weekend is here, perhaps things will be better!


7 thoughts on “A Job lot

  1. We do encounter troubles, don’t we? I was involved in a parking lot incident where I wasn’t so gracious. We need the Lord’s help daily!

    I hope your current situation resolves soon–and without blame!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for sharing, Letitia. I can relate very well to the feelings you describe. It’s hard knowing you’re not “at fault” yet sensing that others won’t understand that. It’s so tough to recognize our lack of control at these times. I really appreciate your post.Jeannie (next door to you at #10 in the FMF linkup)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.